It's been a while... - Reisverslag uit Limerick, Ierland van Kelly Grinsven - WaarBenJij.nu It's been a while... - Reisverslag uit Limerick, Ierland van Kelly Grinsven - WaarBenJij.nu

It's been a while...

Door: KellyvanGrinsven

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Kelly

13 April 2011 | Ierland, Limerick

It’s been a while since I wrote my last blog. I can’t say much has happened over these past few weeks although I will give you some highlights.. if I remember them at all. ;)

Kilkee

Once upon a time in Limerick,….
All the international students got a bit bored, so we thought; ‘why not make a daytrip’. A couple of us went to Kilkee. It honestly was a beautiful place. Kilkee is an itsy bitsy tiny town where buses stop halfway down a street, no bus stop there. When we got out of the bus we immediately saw a beach-like place and the sea just down an alley, so we decided to walk down. It was beautiful, we had gorgeous weather too. Then we eventually kept on walking and we found beautiful cliffs! It was truly amazing! It was way much better than the Cliffs of Moher, and this was for free. It was really spectacular. The group ‘kind of’ divided from this point onwards and I ended up ‘discovering’ the beautiful and gorgeous scenery with Ricarda, Sophie and Jonathan. (not that this is of any relevance but still..)

Columbus

Isn’t it funny when you are walking down a rock by yourself, you turn around the corner and see the most beautiful cliffs and rock formation you have ever seen and think to yourself; “how cool is this, I just discovered this place, no one else knows about this” … or is that just me?

Then obviously reality sinks in when the others decided to walk down as well (having the very same experience by the way as they come down and shout: “oh Kelly this is soo beautiful have you seeeen this?”), yeah lads I’ve been here for a while.. :P. And you realise that you are far from the first one to see this place. But the effect that this piece of nature has been untouched by mankind for so many years makes it seem as if nobody has ever been there. :) That’s Ireland I guess.

Other than this trip not much has happened. We had a birthday party from two of the international students and the theme was ‘knackers and haunties’ in other words: ‘boeren en sletjes’ – Irish style. I felt so bad walking down the street :S Thank god it wasn’t very far from City Campus and I wasn’t the only one dressed like that. It was fun though. Especially when Caitlyn and I walked passed an undercover police car on our way home. Those policemen probably had an interesting conversation… :P

Mary I – Irish style

At the time of writing I’m in my final week of classes already. Basically every lecturer has stopped teaching last week (so officially two weeks before the end of classes) so days have been very boring here. I have been waiting for the exam timetable for ages because only then was I able to book my flight home. Of course Mary I took for-e-ver to post this online. Now imagine this: As an International student I only have 2 exams (the rest of the exams I’ve already taken and the others are essays) so 2 real exams to study for. There are 2 exam weeks from Monday 2nd until Friday 13th of May. Jokingly I told one of my classmates; I’ll bet you I’ll have my first exam in the first week and the other one on the very last day of the very last week. We laughed, oh how we laughed…..

Guess what?! Yep, first exam on the 3rd of May, second exam (which, by the way, is a multiple choice exam and takes about 20 min.) is on the very last day of the very last week; Friday 13th. That means I have to wait for 1,5 week for a lousy exam. I wanted to be home for that weekend so badly because we have this big thing, a weekend out, too complicated to explain. I was not the only one having problems with this date because a lot of international students take this exam and are all experiencing the same kind of problem. So I decided to write our lecturer an email whether it would be possible to reschedule. (since this was ‘only’ a provisional timetable and subject to change) She told us she asked and would come back to us as soon as she knew anything. We waited, and waited, and waited.. nothing. So I decided to send her another email. First she replied not knowing anything about it yet but oh how she’s asked… All of a sudden Mary I lecturers ARE able to reply quickly and 5 minutes later I received an email telling me that the principle of the Arts Office himself told her the timetable will NOT be changed.

For god’s sake than don’t put up a ‘provisional’ timetable stating that it is ‘subject to change’ if no one had the intention of changing it anyway. You can probably figure out how pissed off I was at this news. First I was hopeful but then they go and do this. It left me no choice but to plan my ticket for the same Friday in the afternoon. I was (and still am) fed up with Mary I and their way of working.. Or basically – not cooperating. But there’s nothing you can do about it, other than ‘stick it to the man!’

Anyways. Counting down the days now.. Exactly a week to go :)

This weekend I am going to Dingle with two international students. It’ll be Grand!

Slán leat!

  • 13 April 2011 - 21:32

    Ellen:

    Balen Kelly!!! Ik las het vanmiddag al op je facebook! Maar zoals jezelf ook al zegt niks aan te doen, en probeer toch nog te genieten van je laatste weken!
    Succes nog verder,
    groetjes Ellen

  • 13 April 2011 - 21:37

    Corrie Hans Verwegen:

    Dag Kelly,
    Toevallig vanmiddag nog met je moeder over je gehad, ik had al zolang niets meer gelezen van jou.
    Leuk dat je weer wat schrijft, balen dat de examens zover uit elkaar liggen. Vrijdag de dertiende laat thuis en meteen een motorweekend geloof ik?
    Succes en sterkte die laatste weken.
    Groeten van Corrie en Hans Verwegen

  • 14 April 2011 - 10:12

    D@vy:

    Fijn dat die -gecensureerde- tentamens niet verzet kunnen worden.
    Anderhalve week langer blijven voor 20 minuten tentamen is niet fijn. Bovendien is je ticket ook nog eens 200 euro duurder :S
    Gelukkig ben je nog net op tijd voor het treffen :)
    Gelukkig nog minder dan een maandje en dan ben je weer terug, telt nu wel hard af! :D


  • 14 April 2011 - 15:15

    Jan Linders:

    Hi Kelly,

    Too bad about your exam, but Dingle is great! Enjoy, greetz,
    Jan

  • 14 April 2011 - 18:01

    Adriënne&John:

    Hoi Kelly, de laatste loodjes....
    Heel veel succes met je examens en volgens mij zoeken ze nog vrijwilligers voor het motortreffen, dus net op tijd!
    Nog een paar daagjes en...dan komt het busje voor jou!
    Groetjes en tot over een paar weekjes,
    John&Adriënne.

  • 15 April 2011 - 08:52

    Marianne:

    He Kelly, leuk nog iets van je te lezen. Wel erg balen dat je nog extra moet blijven. We tellen de dagen af,al zal het voor ons sneller gaan dan voor jou. Tenminste zo zal het voelen.
    Maar je moet de moed niet laten zakken je bent er bijna. Dus zet hem op dan komt het allemaal goed en dan lekker feesten als je thuis komt. En uitrusten van de reis natuurlijk.
    Groetjes van ons allen.

  • 15 April 2011 - 11:19

    Kelly:

    People, don't get me wrong.. I'm not homesick! I am enjoying my time here very much and wouldn't want to miss this for the world! And even though I can't wait to get back part of me really wants to stay here... Time does fly by! I can't believe there's only a month left to go

  • 16 April 2011 - 10:16

    Ons Mam:

    Ja pff, dat was wel duidelijk dat geen heimwee hebt, hoezo eigenlijk niet? Ik kreeg nog een tip voor je. Heb je de dolfijnen al gezien? Je kunt vanuit Limerick, of daar ergens, met een boot naar een eiland. Rond die boot wemelt het van de dolfijnen heb ik me laten vertellen. Je hebt nu nog mooi wat dagen om de toerist uit te hangen, dus geniet ervan. Ierland is echt mooi zeker nu het voorjaar is toch? Groetjes mam en pap

    p.s. oh ja wij kunnen niet wachten je weer op te halen in Amsterdam

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Ierland, Limerick

studying in Limerick

Recente Reisverslagen:

12 Mei 2011

This is it!

28 April 2011

Some trips to kill time...

13 April 2011

It's been a while...

24 Maart 2011

"Summertime, and the living is easy!"

14 Maart 2011

Davy visiting
Kelly

Actief sinds 27 Okt. 2010
Verslag gelezen: 863
Totaal aantal bezoekers 32992

Voorgaande reizen:

17 Januari 2011 - 13 Mei 2011

studying in Limerick

Landen bezocht: