Getting lost but Finding my place... - Reisverslag uit Limerick, Ierland van Kelly Grinsven - WaarBenJij.nu Getting lost but Finding my place... - Reisverslag uit Limerick, Ierland van Kelly Grinsven - WaarBenJij.nu

Getting lost but Finding my place...

Door: KellyvanGrinsven

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Kelly

25 Januari 2011 | Ierland, Limerick

Yesterday was my first day at uni and what a day indeed. It’s not such a big uni but me and other international students still managed to walk back and forth trying to find the classrooms we needed. Although we all have different courses, we walk into each other regularly which gives us a chance to update each other on which course is nice, which isn’t and where the classrooms are. So getting lost a couple of times but finding my place at the same time. Today I ‘kind of’ found out that I’m a bit of a nerd. :P I like Limerick so far, but now, after being able to sit in a couple of classes, I really feel ‘at home’. This is ‘my thing’ being in a classroom and learning :). The courses that started today:
- First there was Irish Heritage Studies – literature. Quite complicated because we will be taking about sagas etc. and a lot of names (characters and sagas) are in Irish, which is difficult enough as it is. But the teacher’s really fun! She looks a bit like a hippy with a flower dress and two pigtails – she is over fifty by the way, so she’s got grey pigtails. We all had to answer a couple of questions and after that we had to hand in all these pieces of paper. When she had all of our papers in her hands she just threw them up in the air! And said: “I’m not an organized person anyway!” :D Then she picked all the papers up again, asked us to sit in groups of four or five and she handed out the papers to the individual groups again. This was her system of spreading information amongst students… Whatever works for you :)
- Second class for me was Psychology for the first years but when we were waiting in front of the classroom we found out the classes were cancelled for today. So I’ll have to find out what that course is like tomorrow.
- After that the next lesson was “an introduction to Music”. I really misinterpreted this class in terms of difficulty. I thought I would manage but it’s much more difficult than I imagined. The teacher talked about all different kinds of minor chords and he played a piece on the piano for us (in Gminor for those who really want to know) and we had to write it down. We had to use the base line which is something I am not really familiar with (since I always play in G-key). So all the names for the notes are different as well. After I found out what ‘flat’, ‘sharp’, and ‘neutral’ means, I managed a little but it was still very difficult. I remember having to deal with this kind of theory in my first year at the Conservatory at Tilburg and that is about five years ago… I found it difficult enough at the time let alone having to deal with it in another language! I was ‘kind of’ pleased to hear that Ingeborg (who studies Music) finds it very difficult as well. We were also supposed to sing a piece and conduct it at the same time. That was a lot of fun though and that wasn’t very difficult. So Ingeborg and I decided to just go to classes but not take the exam. That is, at least, if my schedule will let me because now I have to choose other subjects in order for me to get my credits.
- After ‘an introduction to Music’ I was finished but I decided to just pop in at the third year psychology class. It was really interesting so I’m probably going to ‘hang on’ to this course. Tomorrow I’ll check out psychology for second and first year as well and I’ll either take all three of them, or just two
So, that was my first day at ‘Mary I’ and loved it! Tonight we’re going to show some French students the Burger King. They don’t have this kind of place in France so we decided to all take them out :P An experience of a life-time :P
OW! By the way! It’s been big news here about Vincent Tabak killing this girl around Christmas. It’s been on the news ever since I got here, turns out he’s originally from Veghel, which is a small town really close to where I come from.

PS!!! I was finally able to download my video on youtube!!! Check it out: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JWC2KE39wO0&feature=feedu

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Ierland, Limerick

studying in Limerick

Recente Reisverslagen:

12 Mei 2011

This is it!

28 April 2011

Some trips to kill time...

13 April 2011

It's been a while...

24 Maart 2011

"Summertime, and the living is easy!"

14 Maart 2011

Davy visiting
Kelly

Actief sinds 27 Okt. 2010
Verslag gelezen: 511
Totaal aantal bezoekers 33030

Voorgaande reizen:

17 Januari 2011 - 13 Mei 2011

studying in Limerick

Landen bezocht: