Davy visiting - Reisverslag uit Limerick, Ierland van Kelly Grinsven - WaarBenJij.nu Davy visiting - Reisverslag uit Limerick, Ierland van Kelly Grinsven - WaarBenJij.nu

Davy visiting

Door: KellyvanGrinsven

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Kelly

14 Maart 2011 | Ierland, Limerick

Thursday Davy arrived at Cork airport where I was awaiting his arrival. I was very happy to see him coming through the gates :) That same Thursday we didn’t do a lot since Davy was tired of his journey and we just enjoyed each other’s’ company.

On the Friday however I showed him around Limerick. One of the remarks which he made was exactly like the one my parents made earlier: It’s not a pretty city… We walked along the river, which was nice. Davy was able to make a lot of beautiful pictures. :)

On the Saturday we went on a Paddy wagon tour which was brilliant! The tour-guide/driver was an all Irish lad who knew a lot (obviously) about the sites to see and the history and background of some of the sites we went to see. Our first stop was at a remembrance stone for the famine in Ireland. After that we went to see Blackhead, there was a beach there and yes, people DO surf in the middle of winter :S and then we stopped at St Bridget’s well where a lot of people come to visit and make a wish or leave something behind of their loved ones who’ve past away. It’s kind of spooky when you walk into the well and see all those remembrance cards or small personal items (such as a police badge) collected on the walls of the well. Very young people who have died but also people of age.

Leaving St Bridges well we went up to the Cliffs of Moher. Unfortunately the weather wasn’t too good so visibility was poor. Davy and I could make some nice pictures and video’s. I was allowed to use Davy’s tripod which is brilliant. No more shaking videoclips due to a cold camerawoman :P

Our next stop was at the Burren. An amazing and strange sight to see. Everywhere you look you see limestone. EVERYWHERE! There is no beach, it’s limestone.. It’s amazing. Then we went on to Poulnabrone which is an ancient tombstone. And After that our last real stop was at Durty Nelly’s just outside Bunratty Castle. This is where Davy had his first ‘glass’ of Guinness. (I thought I’d give him a glass since a pint might be a bit too much for him.. and I was right.. he didn’t like it very much.) “Wanne boer nie kent….”

It was at around 5 pm when we were back in Limerick city so we decided to get some groceries and make ourselves some dinner. That evening we went to Dolans :) Which was nice, but unfortunately the other international students wanted to go home pretty early. Davy was kind of disappointed about this. (All he’s been asking me over here is: “Are we going out tonight??” – Like that’s the only thing we do here… He couldn’t have chosen a worse time since everybody has been very busy studying and writing essay’s this week.)

Sunday was another quiet day. We had our first ‘real’ experience of a couple living together since we decided to clean up the apartment. :) My Irish roommates are not too good at cleaning up their ‘sh*t’ so I usually end up cleaning it. Lately I just leave it there ‘cause I’m not their cleaning lady, but I have a guest and my guest decided it was an absolute mess and we could not live in it for the entire weekend. (he was right of course)

‘Jack’ the internet

So from Monday till Thursday the normal week for me started again with two major tests coming up and I had to study a lot. So I had to leave Davy behind at City Campus for quite a while. Fortunately he had some work to do for his own work so that kept him distracted a little. I can only imagine how boring it was for him to sit in a 4X4 room for the entire day. I wouldn’t be able to do that, and so there was a reason for him to ask me (almost) every night whether we were doing anything fun in the evening.

We had a problem with the internet this past week and the past weekend. Everybody at city campus was very annoyed by this. One of our international students thought that ‘Jack’ (we had to give it a name) loves us very much and we love him back. But he couldn’t handle all the pressure anymore and thought we were visiting him too much, therefore he started to be a bitch and leave us.

Killarney take two

Davy and I spent our evenings together and went out a couple of times. On Saturday I took him to Killarney and I showed him around. The two of us rented bikes and this time I DID see Torc Waterfall :D. The weather was better too :) I remember telling Cailtyn that I wanted to do this with Davy and her reply was: “Ow that will be soooo romantic” Whereupon I said: “It will probably be a race who’s fastest at the top of a hill, or he’ll perform wheelies and stoppies with his bike. So, Romantic, no not that :P” Guess what… I was right :) But I really, really enjoyed my time with him in Killarney. He made a lot of beautiful pictures and that makes him happy, which makes me happy :)

Revolving Bitches?!

Davy and I did a lot of cooking ourselves but then again he really spoiled me with all sorts of luxury food that I would normally not buy. When we went out for dinner on the Sunday night I think my body protested against all the junk-food it wasn’t used to have anymore. So I got sick that evening. The evening of our six-year anniversary, and the last evening before Davy left for home again. These things tend to happen to us… I don’t know what it is but every time the pair us have something ‘big’ about to happen, one of us gets ill.

Time flies when you’re having fun!

And then all of a sudden it was Monday again and time for Davy to leave. I went to one class and after that I went back to city campus and together Davy and I left for Cork airport. Once Davy was checked in, and basically ready to go, I had to wait for my bus back to Limerick. When the bus came we had to say our goodbye’s – again. And that was hard. I’m sure I’ll be better once I start my daily routine here but for the time being I might be experiencing my first real ‘dip’. I know one thing for sure, next time I get on that bloody bus, It’ll be because I’m going back home!

Slán leat!

  • 15 Maart 2011 - 17:51

    Ons Mam:

    Tja, gek iets dat thuisfront he? Dat is dan nog wel het beste van deze studie in ierland dat je weet wat je wel en zeker niet wil in de toekomst. Wel fijn dat jullie samen het jubileum hebben kunnen vieren. We hebben de uitnodiging om uit eten te gaan nog wel overwogen, maar diner on you and tickets on us, vonden we toch net iets te gek. We houden het wel tegoed en je weet voor ons pap mag het ook Mc Donalds zijn!!

  • 15 Maart 2011 - 22:57

    Marianne:

    Hoi Kelly,
    Fijn dat jullie het zo leuk gehad hebben samen. De fimpjes die jullie gemaakt hebben zijn erg leuk en ook mooie foto"s. Maar helaas aan alles komt een einde en dat is niet altijd makkelijk. Nu nog maar aftellen tot mei. Voor je het weet is het voorbij. Zeker als je weer in je normale ritme zit. dus kop op dan red je het dat weten we zeker.
    Groetjes van ons allemaal.

  • 18 Maart 2011 - 07:35

    John&Adriënne:

    Hoi Kelly,
    weer een mooi verslag.
    Proficiat met jullie jubileum (ook voor Davy)
    Geniet nog even van het Ierse en.....
    busje komt zo!
    Groetjes, John & Adriënne

  • 18 Maart 2011 - 13:47

    Piet Hoogeveen:

    Dear Kelly,
    I really like your reports! You have a way of describing things that makes you almost feel being part of it.
    Last year I was fortunate to visit (students in) Limerick -so that won't probabaly be possible this year- but don't hesitate to keep us posted regularly.
    Greetz, PietH

  • 21 Maart 2011 - 16:11

    Jan Linders:

    Hi Kelly,

    Everyone\s allowed to have his/her "dip" , so not to worry! I'm sure you'll enjoy most of part 2 of your stay as well! greetz,
    Jan

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Ierland, Limerick

studying in Limerick

Recente Reisverslagen:

12 Mei 2011

This is it!

28 April 2011

Some trips to kill time...

13 April 2011

It's been a while...

24 Maart 2011

"Summertime, and the living is easy!"

14 Maart 2011

Davy visiting
Kelly

Actief sinds 27 Okt. 2010
Verslag gelezen: 1020
Totaal aantal bezoekers 32987

Voorgaande reizen:

17 Januari 2011 - 13 Mei 2011

studying in Limerick

Landen bezocht: