"Summertime, and the living is easy!" - Reisverslag uit Limerick, Ierland van Kelly Grinsven - WaarBenJij.nu "Summertime, and the living is easy!" - Reisverslag uit Limerick, Ierland van Kelly Grinsven - WaarBenJij.nu

"Summertime, and the living is easy!"

Door: KellyvanGrinsven

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Kelly

24 Maart 2011 | Ierland, Limerick

I would like to have you know I’m writing this blog enjoying a nice glass of white wine in the sun :P.

Spring started in Limerick and it has been beautiful weather for the past days. :)

Lá Fhéile Padraig

Thursday the 17th of March was St Patrick’s day, which meant (in my case) a day off from school. All international students went ‘all out’ and got dressed for the occasion expecting Limerick to go wild during St Patrick’s day. Boy, were we disappointed… Apparently the only ‘people’ actually dressing up for St Paddy’s day were children and, well, international students.. :S we looked like fools but had fun nonetheless. We expected green people, green food, green beer, green water. But no, none of that. The only thing green was the water in the fountain on O’Connel street, and some people the day after…

Analyzing a teacher

We’ve had a guest lecturer for our Biological Psychology classes for the last two lectures and I couldn’t help myself analysing this teacher. He would not survive our secondary school students I’m afraid… This teacher talks a lot with his hands, too much even.. He draws random arrows and lines on a board, everybody wonders why on earth he’d go to the trouble of actually drawing something since none of it makes sense, and he walks up and down and up and down in class and when he’s at the back of the class again he realises he has to switch to another powerpoint slide which causes him to race back to the front of the class again in order to do this, starting the whole process again. It’s funny really if anything, but it’s kind of annoying sometimes too.

I’ve also found out that it’s not really hard to pass MCQs here… This course is the most difficult course I take and even though I studied very hard for the MCQ, I’ve abandoned all hope of passing this MCQ. Fortunately however, I passed! The chart said I scored 62% which really isn’t that much. And after discussing with Erin whether this would be a pass or not (since she’s a biology major and scored 68%) she decided to ask the teacher. Our teacher’s reply, oh, you did very well! 68% is a B1 (which means I scored a B2, which is about a 7,5). We couldn’t believe it! You would only have to score 40% to get a pass… :S It made us happy though, that’s for sure.

Classes are all slowly coming to an end here. I have so much work to do, not just from the HAN (dpf and what not) but also essays, papers and study work for Mary I. Worst of all: the weather is perfect here! It’s always the same story though.. when everybody is outside having fun and hanging out, we have to study… Some things will never change.

Help me! I’m turning into a girly girl!!

Thursday I was on my way to one of the practise rooms at Mary I for an interview, only to find Sister Delia vacuuming the chapel with some loud church music on. :) I’m not sure if I’ve ever mentioned the chapel at Mary I in my blogs before but it’s a beautiful little chapel in the building and you can come in any time you like. There is a mass at least every week, and I’m quite sure there is one every day. :) It’s grand!

Anyway, after the interview I went to Dunnes stores because I’ve been looking for a toilet brush for the past week. ‘A toilet brush you say?!’ yes, a toilet brush. The water in Limerick is not one of the best qualities of water and it makes the toilet go an ‘ieuw’ colour, so I decided it needed a proper scrub. At Dunnes however I came home with much more than just a toilet brush. I bought a summer dress and sunglasses! Please help me, I’m turning into a girly-girl. You hardly ever see me wear dresses at home!

Now I have some clips on youtube, which I made when Davy was over to visit me. They are definitely worth checking them if I say so myself :P

Slán leat!

Paddy Wagon tour part one: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DzLsojeKkNo
Paddy Wagon tour part two: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bsNZ_YAE-9E
Killarney ‘a thousand shades of green’: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-o-P8lp7RH8

  • 25 Maart 2011 - 18:32

    Ons Mam:

    Mooi dipje weg met het sombere weer! Hallo zon en jurkjes. Jurkjes inderdaad??? Zal straks nog wennen zijn als we gaan shoppen, ben niet gewend om samen met jou jurkjes te zoeken. Breng dan wel die schoenen met flathoge hakken mee die je daar gekocht hebt, als je er inmiddels op kunt lopen dan... Of veruil je, je jurkjes hier weer voor motorpak en laarzen? Ons pap vraagt of hij je motor toch niet een keer uit moet laten, hij trappelt van ongeduld.:))

  • 25 Maart 2011 - 18:57

    Deevie:

    Als je maar niet te veel een meisjes-meisje wordt, anders durf je straks geen motor te rijden: Bang dat je nagels breken ;)

    Ik zal zorgen dat je Hoarnetje helemaal klaar is voor het nieuwe seizoen, kleine beurt moet nog en ik zal hem helemaal netjes poetsen. Dan kan je je jurkje meteen inruilen voor je Stig pak!

    Fijn om te lezen dat alles goed gaat op school, en dat je (waarschijnlijk) alles wel gaat halen! Des te eerder kun je weer terug naar 'Sidepie'

    Mis je, maar geniet nog maar even daar, voor je weet ben je weer terug bij mij! :)

  • 05 April 2011 - 18:49

    Kevin:

    dia is muire dhuit mé bhuel
    mé tuig litir cartá
    go raibh mile maith agat
    mé cant fan until sibh teaghlach
    is tiomáin gluaisrothar.
    zo doe je best zusje

    slám lacit

  • 05 April 2011 - 19:27

    Kelly:

    Ha Kevin,
    Graag gedaan hoor, van dat kaartje. En ik kan ook niet wachten tot ik thuis ben en dan gaan we samen motor rijden.
    Slám lacit weet ik niet wat dat is.. Ik denk dat je Slán leat bedoelt, dat betekent Goodbye to you :)

    Scriobh tú chugam as Gaeilge thaitin sé go mór liom!

  • 14 April 2011 - 15:10

    Jan Linders:

    Hi Kelly,

    Again, attractive images (and sound) from good old Ireland in your clips! I hadn't seen the 'potato famine memorial 'before. Impressive! Enjoy your last month (?) although I realise you have to do a lot of work! Take care, Jan

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Ierland, Limerick

studying in Limerick

Recente Reisverslagen:

12 Mei 2011

This is it!

28 April 2011

Some trips to kill time...

13 April 2011

It's been a while...

24 Maart 2011

"Summertime, and the living is easy!"

14 Maart 2011

Davy visiting
Kelly

Actief sinds 27 Okt. 2010
Verslag gelezen: 855
Totaal aantal bezoekers 32983

Voorgaande reizen:

17 Januari 2011 - 13 Mei 2011

studying in Limerick

Landen bezocht: